AAP Party Becomes The Latest Political Party To Get National Party Status

Arvind Kejriwal, AAP Party
AAP President Arvind Kejriwal after their win in Punjab
Arvind Kejriwal, AAP Party
AAP President Arvind Kejriwal after their win in Punjab

As voting in the recently concluded Gujarat Assembly elections continues, Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is poised to become the latest political outfit to be designated as a “national party.” To gain national party status, the AAP must receive at least 6% of the vote and win at least two seats.

According to the official website of the Election Commission of India, the AAP in Gujarat has received around 12% of the vote and is leading in six of the 182 seats in the Gujarat Assembly as of 12.20 p.m.

Manish Sisodia, the deputy chief minister of Delhi and an AAP leader, said on Thursday that the Aam Aadmi Party will become a national party as a result of the Gujarat elections. “For the first time in the country, politics based on education and health is receiving recognition. Congratulations to the people of India,” Sisodia tweeted as voting for the Gujarat Assembly Election 2022 began.

To be recognised as a national party, a political party must be recognised in at least four states, and to be recognised as a state party, it must win at least two seats and 6% of the votes cast in the Assembly election. In other words, the AAP only needs to win two seats and 6% of the vote in today’s election.

In 2021, AAP performed well after replacing Congress as the second-largest party in Surat municipal elections, garnering approximately 28% of the vote.

Gujarat held assembly elections in two phases on December 1 and 5, respectively. By the end of the second phase of the Gujarat elections, the approximate voter turnout was 59.11 percent.

On December 1, Gujarat saw an overall turnout of 63.14 percent during the first phase of voting. On November 12, Himachal Pradesh held elections for 68 assembly seats.

Isudan Gadhvi, the Aam Aadmi Party’s face in Gujarat, took an early lead over the Congress Party’s sitting MLA from Khambhalia, Vikram Madam, on Thursday, while the BJP’s Mulubhai Bera trailed.