In India we celebrate New Year five times in a year.

The way of celebrating New Year is also different around the world. In all religions, New Year is celebrated like a festival in different ways with different traditions. Some welcome the new year by singing and dancing and some with worship.

Most countries in the world have a tradition of celebrating the Christian New Year. The Christian year is divided into 12 months starting from 1 January to 31 December. According to Pandit Anil Changu of Jawali, the date of new year is considered different in every religion.

The special thing is that even though the customs of all the religions of the world are different, but on January 1, the New Year is celebrated in all the countries.

Christian New Year from January 1

The new year began on 1 January, 15 October 1582. The name of its calendar is Gregorian calendar. Julius Caesar created the Julian calendar in the year 45 BC. Since then the New Year is celebrated on 1st January.

Parsi New Year: From Navroz

The new year of Zoroastrianism is celebrated as Navroz festival. Navroz is usually celebrated on 19 August. 3000 years ago, Shah Jamsetji started celebrating Navroz.

Punjabi New Year: From Holi

In Punjab, New Year is celebrated as Baisakhi festival. which comes in April. According to the Sikh Nanakshahi calendar, the second day of Holi marks the beginning of the new year.

Hindu new year

From Shukla Pratipada of Chaitra month. Hindu new year is considered to start from Shukla Pratipada of Chaitra month. It is also called Hindu New Samvatsar or New Samvat. It is believed that Lord Brahma started the creation of the universe from this day. From this day the new year of Vikram Samvat begins. According to the English calendar, this date falls in April. It is celebrated in many regions of India by the names Gudi Padwa, Ugadi etc.

Jain new year

From the next day of Deepawali. The Jain New Year begins the day after Diwali. It is also called Veer Nirvana Samvat. From this day Jains celebrate their new year.