Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018; Swear-in ceremony of Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister today

H D Kumaraswamy

There was political upheaval in Karnataka form last few days over Chief Ministership of Karnataka. Today, Janata Dal (Secular) Legislature Party leader H.D. Kumaraswamy will be sworn in as Chief Minister while Congress’ G Parameshwara will be his Deputy CM. At 4:30 pm, Governor Vajubhai Vala will administer the oath of office on the steps of the Vidhana Soudha. Know more.

Details about ministers swearing-in today
JD(S) H D Kumaraswamy will be sworn in as the Chief Minister for the second time. He is 58 years old. During JD(S)-BJP coalition government in 2006-07, he was Chief Minister for 20 months. The Deputy CM G. Parameshwara will also swear in today. He is 67 and the Dalit face of Congress.

Composition of cabinet
There were also consultations on sharing of seats in the Ministry between the Congress and the JD(S). For shaping the cabinet, the size of the Ministry is fixed at 34. In this, 22 seats are for Congress including that of Deputy Chief Minister and the remaining 12 are of JD(S) party which includes the Chief Minister. There will be a speaker from Congress and his deputy will be from the Janata Dal United.

However, the allocation for 32 ministers will be done after the floor test of the coalition government likely to be held on Thursday or Friday. There are 221 elected members in the Assembly and the coalition partners have 117 members, including one from the BSP and two independents.

Karnataka Assembly Elections
image credit: moneycontrol

Who will be the part of swear-in ceremony?
This event will be attended by former Prime Minister H.D. Deve Gowda, prominent leaders, including Congress president Rahul Gandhi, former Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Chief Ministers of Kerala, Odisha, Delhi, West Bengal and Puducherry.

The opposition party BJP is observing this Wednesday as black day. They call the formation of the JD(S)-Congress government is a subversion of the people’s mandate.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here