Key takeaways from Maharashtra & Haryana election results

Maharashtra, Haryana
Maharshtra and Haryana election results
Maharashtra, Haryana
Maharshtra and Haryana election results

The election results from the Maharashtra & Haryana were out yesterday with BJP rule once again in Maharashtra and a hung assembly in Haryana.

Key takeways from these elections :

– In Maharashtra, NDA is well and truly ahead with capturing of 160 seats, a number that is well ahead of half way mark of 145 seats. Win of BJP in Maharashtra is for sure but one thing to be taken notice of is the decrease in the number of seats in comparison to 2014 elections.

– The Opposition Congress-NCP alliance has captured around 100 seats and gave a tough competition to the ruling party.

– BJP has won 43 seat and its ally Shiv Sena has 33 seats as of the time of publishing. Chief Minister of Maharashtra, Devendra Fadnavis confronted the press and claimed that the party won’t hesitate im offering Sena representater Aaditya Thackeray the post of Deputy Chief Minister.

– The Prakash Ambedkar-led Vanchit Bahujan Angadi, Maharashtra Navnirman Sena are leading the 2019 elections in one seat each, and the Samajwadi Party and the All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen are leading in two seats.

– The fight on Haryana has gone down the barrel with BJP on 39 seats and their arch rivals Congress on 33 seats. Smell of hung assembly is in the air in Haryana but it remains to be seen who will form the coalition government first in the state.

– New entrant Jannayak Janata Party has surprised everyone and regional party Indian National Lok Dal could become the kingmakers. The Congress is already trying to lure the regional parties and independents on their side to form a government.

– BJP was expected to win by reaching 75 seats but at present it is struggling to reach the halfway mark. Defeat is knocking the doorsteps of seven Cabinet Ministers and two MoS, even as Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar is expected to win his seat from Karnal.

– While the State BJP chief Subhash Barala has handed his resignation, the party’s central leadership has summoned Mr. Khattar to Delhi.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here