Rohit Sharma to lead India in the Sri Lanka Tri Series; Kohli, Dhoni, others rested


Rohit Sharma is all set to lead the Indian team in the upcoming Sri Lanka tri-series as Captain Kohli is being given a short rest from the game. Apart from Virat, the BCCI has decided to put some other major players at rest including Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, and Dhoni.

The board has made some major changes in the 15 member squad that toured that South Africa Series. Although Rohit has had a not-so-good game in the T20 Series against the Proteas, he holds a perfect record of leading the team in the T20 matches.

Rohit Sharma had also led the team for the final T20 against SA when Kohli had to take rest because of a back injury. Talking about Sharma’s individual performance, the player hasn’t been able to give his best in the recently concluded series, however, the team won the last T20 and hence the series which is evident enough to reflect his caliber as a captain.

The shuffled squad also implies that several spots will be filled by some fresh and young cricketers like Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, and Jaydev Unadkat. Besides, experienced players like Suresh Raina and Dinesh Karthik will also be getting a golden chance to showcase their best game. Since MS Dhoni had requested to be put to rest, the wicketkeeping is going to be handled by Pant.

In the Tri Series, India will be playing against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. While the inaugural match will be held on March 6 between India and Sri Lanka, two days later, Bangladesh will join the series with a match against India. All the matches are to be played in Colombo and the series will be concluded by March 18.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here