Women’s Asia Cup T20: India Beats Pakistan by 7 Wickets to secure a place in Final

asia-women-cup t20

Earlier today, India made its way to the Women’s Asia Cup T20 Final after beating Pakistan by 7 wickets. Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat but was restricted to just 72 runs in 20 overs at the Kinrara Academy Oval. The final will be held on Sunday between India and another finalist which is yet to be decided.

Cricketers like Sehwag and VVS Laxman congratulated the Indian women’s team on Twitter:

On the Indian side, Ekta Bisht emerged as the most outstanding bowler by snatching 3 wickets and giving out 14 runs in 4 overs. She also won the ‘Player of the Match’ title.

It was an easy target for India which was completed by the partnership between Captain Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana. While Kaur scored 34 in 49 balls, Smriti made 38 runs from 40 balls. Indian squad was able to achieve the target of 73 runs with 23 balls to spare.

On the other hand, Pakistan struggled throughout the 20 overs with just two players scoring a double figure. It was Nahida Khan who scored 18 and Sana Mir chipped in 20 runs without losing her wicket. Pakistan has reached the final twice before but this time, it will have to wait for the results of the upcoming match between Bangladesh and Malaysia.

There are 6 teams participating in the Women’s Asia Cup T20- India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Thailand, and Malaysia. While India has secured the top position by winning 4 out of 5 matches, Bangladesh has won 3 matches and the result of its match today will further decide if it gets to the final.

However, Pakistan has also won 3 out of 5 matches and if Bangladesh wins today, it would mean Pakistan would lose its chance to the final. Furthermore, Sri Lanka and Thailand have won 2 out of 5 matches while host Malaysia has lost all 4 of its matches.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here