Karnataka Assembly Elections: Voting to be held on May 12


The Election Commission has announced that Karnataka Assembly Elections will be held on May 12 while the results will be declared on May 15. The tenure of the current 224 members of the legislative assembly ends on May 28 and the new House has to be constituted before that. These upcoming elections are quite crucial for both BJP and Congress.

As per the schedule announced by Election Commission, the date of issue of notification is 17th April while the last date for nomination is 24th April. Scrutiny will be done on 25th April and candidates can withdraw their names on 27th April.

It will be a single-phase election and 72% population of the state will be eligible for voting. The model code of conduct has been announced with immediate effect. The commission has also announced the expenditure ceiling of INR 28 Lakhs for every candidate and any aberrations will be reported.

It’s been anticipated that the assembly elections in Karnataka are going to be contested mainly among 3 parties namely BJP, Congress, and JDS. Congress would be aiming to retain its seat as the party is already struggling in establishing itself in rest of the country.

On the other hand, BJP is making all possible efforts that the saffron party’s state chief BS Yeddyurappa wins the Karnataka Assembly elections. Interestingly, Karnataka is the only major state where Congress is ruling and if it loses this seat that would be a big blow to the party.

BJP has already started its campaign as party president Amit Shah started his two-day tour of the state. He visited several temples and also addressed a rally in the hometown of State BJP Chief BS Yeddyurappa. Here, Shah claimed that BJP will only defeat Congress but it will uproot the party. He also claimed that earlier he could see the BJP wave but now it’s a BJP tsunami.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here