Lok Sabha election 2019: 72 constituencies go on poll for phase 4 today

In Phase 4 of voting in the 2019 Lok Sabha election is set to take place across 72 parliamentary constituencies in 9 states today. With Phase 4 on Monday, 29 April, 69% of the Lok Sabha constituencies across the country will be completed.

About 12.79 crore people are eligible for voting in the fourth of the seven-phase Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

The Election Commission has set up 1.40 lakh polling booths/stations and has made elaborate security arrangement.

In Phase 4, voting will take place in some seats of Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal.

According to the Election Commission of India, the polling hours for most constituencies are 7 am to 6 pm, except for the sensitive regions of Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand and parts of Madhya Pradesh, where it will end at 4 pm.

The electorate in Odisha will also vote on Monday in the state election in the Assembly constituencies that fall under the respective parliamentary constituencies.

The fate of 961 candidates, including Union ministers Giriraj Singh, Subhash Bhamre, S S Ahluwalia and Babul Supriyo of the BJP and former Union ministers Salman Khurshid and Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury of the Congress, will be decided in this phase.

Among other key contestants in the fray are Kanhaiya Kumar (CPI), Baijayant Panda (BJP), Urmila Matondkar (Congress), Dimple Yadav (Samajwadi Party), Satabdi Roy (TMC) and Milind Deora (Congress).

The votes cast in the Lok Sabha election will all be counted on 23 May.

Read more: Actor Sunny Deol’s first elections campaign…



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here