44.7% voters turnout till 1 pm in Meghalaya and 57.1% in Nagaland

Voting has started today for the assembly elections in Nagaland and Meghalaya. Voting is being held for 60 seats in Nagaland while for 59 seats in the Meghalaya Assembly. Nagaland has more than 13 lakh voters in the state and 183 candidates, including four women and 19 independents, are in the fray for 59 seats in the 60-member assembly.

On the other hand, voters will exercise their franchise at a total of 3,419 polling stations in Meghalaya, out of which 640 polling stations have been marked as sensitive, 323 polling stations as highly sensitive and 84 polling stations as high risk. In view of the elections, elaborate security arrangements have been made in both the states.

Chief Minister Conrad Sangma’s National People’s Party (NPP) is trying to get a second term in the Meghalaya Assembly elections, while the Trinamool Congress under the leadership of former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma has also joined hands to win this assembly election. On the other hand, a contest is expected between NPP, BJP and Congress in Nagaland.