Arvind Kejriwal led AAP secures majority in Delhi, to form government for the third straight time

Arvind Kejriwal, Delhi CM
Re-elected Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal greets the crowd at the Hanuman Temple after winning the Delhi 2020 elections
Arvind Kejriwal, Delhi CM
Re-elected Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal greets the crowd at the Hanuman Temple after winning the Delhi 2020 elections

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) was leading significantly in Delhi’s highly anticipated state election. They have got out of reach of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to return to power in the country’s capital.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal’s AAP was leading in 62 of the 70 seats in the assembly and the BJP in 8, said the Election Commission’s website. The counting of votes began at 8 am in the morning. Meanwhile, The Congress party, which ruled Delhi for 15 years before being thrown out of power in 2013, failed to win even a single seat.

AAP has scored a hattrick in Delhi while on the other side, it is the third straight electoral setback for the BJP after losing Jharkhand and Maharashtra elections last year. Delhi recorded a voter turnout of 62.59 per cent when elections were held on Saturday. This number was lower than the last year and a significant one given an acrimonious campaign this time around and with tension high after three incidents of gunfire at or near protest sites in the last four days.

Arvind Kejriwal visited Hanuman temple in central Delhi region. Delhi Chief Minister had visited the famed temple near Connaught Place with his family ahead of the polls also.

“I took the blessings of Lord Hanuman and prayed for the development of Delhi and its people. Hanuman-ji told me, you are doing good work. Keep serving people, leave the rewards to me. I am hopeful that the results will be in the favour of people of Delhi. And whatever the results are, I will come to get his blessings again,” Mr Kejriwal told reporters.

Various political figures posted heartfelt messages for AAP on their landslide victory in Delhi.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy tweeted, “Hearty congratulations to @AamAadmiParty & @ArvindKejriwal on the remarkable victory in #DelhiPolls2020. Wishing you a successful tenure ahead. #DelhiResults

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted, “Congratulations to AAP and Shri @ArvindKejriwal Ji for the victory in the Delhi Assembly Elections. Wishing them the very best in fulfilling the aspirations of the people of Delhi.”

N Chandrababu Naidu tweeted, “Heartfelt congratulations to Sri @ArvindKejriwal Ji on winning the #DelhiPolls2020. I am sure you will continue to serve the people of Delhi with the same dedication as earlier.”

Former Congress Chief Rahul Gandhi whose party failed to capture a single seat in these elections also congratulated Arvind Kejriwal, “My best wishes & congratulations to Mr Kejriwal and the AAP on winning the Delhi Assembly elections.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here