Goa Politics on Point: Manohar Parrikar sworn in as Chief Minister for fourth time

Senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Manohar Parrikar sworn in as the Goa chief minister for the fourth time in Indian history.

Parrikar has furnished his resignation as the Defense Minister, a post at which the indomitable minister has served successfully for 3 years as the Defence Minister. Notably, Mr. Parrikar is the first IITian to become Chief Minister.

Along with Manohar Parrikar, nine other ministers also sworn in during the ceremony, namely Sudin Dhavalikar and Manohar Azgaonkar of the Maharashtrawdi Gomantak Party, Vijai Sardesai, Vinod Palienkar and Jayesh Salgaonkar of the Goa Forward, Francis D’Souza, Pandurang Madkaikar of the BJP and Independent legislators Govind Gawde and Rohan Khaunte.

This year, BJP is forming government by tagging along with other major parties to prove a majority. In 2012, BJP sealed a simple majority — 21 in the 40-member assembly and also has a buffer of three MLAs of ally Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party and two Independents.

“The Congress did not even submit a claim to the Governor. It had only the support of 17 MLAs. In the face of claim of the 21 MLAs led by Manohar Parrikar, the Governor could not have invited the minority of 17 MLAs to form the Government,” Jaitley said on Facebook.

Citing a past example of alliance, Jaitley said President K.R. Narayanan invited Atal Bahari Vajpayee to form the Government in March 1988.

Jaitley also cited several precedents to support the decision of the Governor, including the 2013 verdict of Delhi Assembly polls where the BJP won 31 seats but the Aam Aadmi Party with 28 MLAs with support of Congress was invited to form the government.

“The Congress Party complains a bit too much. It accused the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) of ‘stealing’ the mandate in Goa. It unsuccessfully petitioned before the Supreme Court. It attempted to raise issues in the Lok Sabha,” Jaitley spelled out.